Wednesday, 14 May 2014

Structure and Functions of the Regional Rural Banks

The Regional Rural Banks (RRBs) aimed at providing credit and other facilities to the small and marginal farmers, agricultural labourers, artisans and small entrepreneurs in rural areas.
The RRB Act, 1986, empowers the Central Government to establish in a State or Union Territory one or more RRBs when any sponsor bank makes such a request The sponsor bank assists the RRB in many ways by subscribing to its share capital, by helping in its establishment, by assisting in recruitment and training of its cadre, and in general providing such managerial and financial assistance sought by the RRB.
The RRB functions within the local limits as specified by government notification. It can have its branches at any place as notified by the government.

Structure and Organisation of the RRB:

The authorised capital of an RRB is fixed at Rs. 1 crore and its issued capital at Rs. 2 lakhs. Of the issued capital, 50 per cent is to be subscribed by the Central Government, 15 per cent by the concerned State Government and the rest 35 per cent by the sponsoring bank.
The working and affairs of the RRB are directed and managed by a Board of Directors consists of a Chairman, three directors to be nominated by the Central Government, and not more than two directors to be nominated by the State Government concerned, and not more than 3 directors to be nominated by the sponsoring bank. The chairman is appointed by the Central Government and his term of office does not exceed five years.

Functions of the RRB:

The functions of the RRB are as follows:
(1) Granting of loans and advances to small and marginal farmers and agricultural labourers, whether individually or in groups, and to co-operative societies, agricultural processing societies, co-operative farming societies, primarily for agricultural purposes or for agricultural operations and other related purposes;
(2) Granting of loans and advances to artisans, small entrepreneurs and persons of small means engaged in trade, commerce and industry or other productive activities within its area of co-operation; and
(3) Accepting deposits.